Xenakis Berio Kanding

Psappha – Sequenza IXa – Sonrisa del juglar

This concert presents a clarinet and a percussion solo piece that is very important for the new music tradition. The Sonrisa del juglar is for bass clarinet, percussion and live electronics, the title has a reference to the Fifth Duino Elegy by Rainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926) and Rilke was inspired by the Pablo Picasso’s rose period painting Les Saltimbanques.

Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001): Psappha (1975) – 13 min.

Luciano Berio (1925-2003): Sequenza IXa (1980) – 13 min.

Ejnar Kanding (b. 1965): Sonrisa del juglar (1998-99) – 11 min.

37 min. for 3 musicians

The concert may include works by other estimated composers, as far as it makes sense as a musical whole. As a concert organizer you are welcome to propose different pieces to be added to this program. We are very positive to add new repertoire, world premieres etc. to this project. Please contact us for collaboration about this matter.